A Year in The Life…

…Lost for Words in the Year of Covid

I have been away for a while. Lost for words in the year of Covid-19. I really do not know what to say that hasn’t already been said.

Living off the grid in our relatively remote island home, I feel as if I have been practicing isolation techniques for the past nearly thirty years. Staying at home and apart from others seems to come naturally. We are lucky not to have suffered too much during the past year, and in fact, when I look back I realize we have actually had a very good year, all things considered.

I invite you to join me for a trip down memory lane with some highlights from this strange year that was 2020.

January 2020

We had plenty of overwintering greens despite cold winter weather. Enjoyed happy birthday celebrations with our youngest daughter. There was the last stand of Cisco the cat. Little did we know that in a few month’s time Cisco, the last of our pets, would die suddenly, just as the pandemic was announced. Good timing. We were going to travel a bit, once the last of the pets pegged out. Sometimes things don’t go as planned.

February 2020

Towards the end of January, shortly before Covid-time I took a trip to Mexico to visit my mother. Spent time with my brother too, who was spending the winter with Mum. I had a painful encounter with a Mexican sidewalk pothole which seriously curtailed my activities. Luckily my flight home was scheduled just before the pandemic began and I was able to hobble home before the borders were closed. Good timing once again.

March 2020

Once the Covid pandemic was declared, we all stayed in our respective homes and gardens, self isolating for weeks on end. Careful planning allowed us to spend time safely with our eldest daughter celebrating her happy birthday with a fresh seafood supper at home on our island. 

April 2020

Warming spring weather brought lots of blossom and some smiling faces. Followed by farewell tears for Cisco the Cat and a pandemic boat trip up one of the nearby inlets for us. That was when the weather decided to have one more stab at winter.

May 2020

Those last April showers brought May flowers, and plenty of them, with the promise of berries and fruit to come. Gardening got seriously underway around this time, with the first harvests of mixed salad greens, herbs and lots of lovely rhubarb.

June 2020

Summer brought socially distanced boat trips with friends. We traveled up Bute Inlet and around one of the neighbouring islands, in between steady garden work at home. At this point we had been to town once since the beginning of March. For much of this year we have only been to town about once every two months.

Just as the peas and beans and salad greens were beginning to take off we were visited by a family of wild Canada geese, who found their way into the garden, destroying most of the young seedlings. Most of the damaged plants did recover eventually, but not before I had re-seeded a lot of them, after vigorously chasing the geese off.

July 2020

Mid-summer brought an abundant harvest of berries of all sorts including more blueberries than we have ever seen in our berry patch. Along with the berries came a mother robin who built her nest and raised her brood right in the middle of the raspberry rows.

We had some visitors this month too; friends who came by boat for a quick cup of tea in the garden, and C.’s eldest daughter and her family who used our boat as their home away from home. We ate family meals at the picnic table in the front yard and enjoyed one another’s company out of doors.

August 2020

This month marks the third family birthday party of the year. We celebrated C.’s special day along with our eldest daughter and a couple of friends; outside once again. More distanced friends and an end of summer boat trip that took us happily away from the garden work for a pleasant change of scenery and plenty of swimming in the sea and a number of nearby lakes.

The California, Oregon, Washington State and Bute Inlet wildfires delivered smokey skies to us towards the end of the summer. We were luckier than folks farther south as far as smoke inhalation went, and much luckier than those unfortunate souls who lost property and/or life.

September 2020

C.’s son and his family spent their late summer vacation camping nearby, with a lovely few days spent with us. This time C. and I moved onto the boat so the grandkids and their folks could spread out in the house. Our daughters were able to join us as well for a few days. We all planned ahead, isolating accordingly, in order to spend a few precious days in one another’s company.

I had a beautiful day for my happy birthday celebration. C. and I hung out at the lake and our mutually isolated summertime neighbours and swimming partners joined us for supper and birthday cake.

I joined friends and fellow activists for a march in our nearest town, appropriately distanced and masked, to protest against the foreign-owned, closed net-pen, Atlantic salmon farms that we have been trying to fend off from this coast ever since they first appeared in the mid 1980’s. It appears that we have finally won part of this battle and we await the final outcome, the removal of 17 of these farms from these waters around this group of islands we call home. The waters surrounding these islands are the main migratory route for all five species of Pacific salmon, some of which are now endangered. It feels like a weight has been lifted and hope is on the horizon.

The harvest continued with about a hundred pounds of tomatoes, many of which ended up in jars, preserved for future use in sauces and stews.

October 2020

Sourdough bread baking became a thing when the pandemic was underway and all the baking ingredients had flown off the shelves. I received a gift of sourdough starter from my eldest daughter, and have been experimenting with it ever since. Sometimes I still bake my regular wholewheat bread.

There was a good harvest of squash despite a slow start. I was so proud of my big Cinderella pumpkin that tipped the scales at about 27 pounds!

After not seeing a deer around the place for at least two years, we were visited by a doe and her two older fawns this fall. Along with the maple leaves just beginning to change colour and drop to the ground, it made for a very autumnal scene.

I successfully grew out seeds for several types of kale as part of a citizen seed trial. And also grew some un-described seeds from the Seed Savers Exchange. Five packets of free seed in exchange for a written evaluation and description of each variety. Seed harvesting, saving and exchanging makes gardening more interesting for me. I guess it has become a bit of a hobby. A good thing as there was a great shortage of seed earlier in the year when everyone and their auntie decided to plant a pandemic garden. Luckily I had previously saved almost all the seed I needed to plant our large garden.

November 2020

This fall C.’s nephew and his family offered C. a puppy from their recently born litter. We decided that since we are more or less locked down anyway, and the opportunity for travel is non-existent, we might as well live for the moment, so we agreed to take the littlest one of the litter. We adopted Billie, a female black Labrador retriever, almost two months ago. At nearly 30 pounds, she is now four times the size she was when we brought her home, and has settled in very nicely. We have been falling in love with her ever since. Every day she makes us laugh, or cry out, and we are smitten.

December 2020

It is the dead of winter. Still, I found several yellow rosebuds in the garden to add to my winter solstice bouquet, along with some sweet scented winter flowering viburnum and some wild salal, also in bloom. It has been a mild and very wet winter so far. I like the wet west coast sort of winter time. I like the green, despite the soggy, muddy ground. I like the mist and even the pouring rain.

It has been the weirdest, quietest Christmas I think I have ever had. Our daughters had to work so were unable to join us for Christmas this year despite the Covid rules; because of their work, we are not in one another’s bubbles at the moment.

It was just C. and me and Billie for Christmas. We did not really have any presents to speak of, though we did find a small tree to decorate very simply with homemade paper decorations that were made once upon a time by our girls. At the last moment I baked a few Christmas cookies.

We had a small venison roast for our Christmas dinner along with vegetables from the garden. It was a bit of a non-event really but I don’t mind. The saddest thing was not being able to spend time with our children. My wish for 2021 is that we will all be together again soon. I’m saving the turkey for that occasion.

And that was about it for us, on our island, for this year in the time of Covid-19.

I wish you all a very healthy and happy new year. I truly hope that 2021 brings some much needed sanity to the whole wide world. With much Love and Peace for a brighter future.

copyright 2020 claudia lake

17 thoughts on “A Year in The Life…”

  1. I love reading your blog and have missed it in 2020, but you hit it right on, what was there to say except good riddance 2020! Hope to get out boating in the new year with you guys and can’t wait to meet Billie!
    Cheers, Gisele

    Liked by 1 person

    1. Thanks Gisele, I am glad you enjoyed this post. Thanks for reading it! We also look forward to some more boating and Billie says she can’t wait to meet you, Dan and Missy too!! Haha! 💝🐾

      Like

  2. It was interesting to read your year in review and to see what you’ve achieved and enjoyed in the time you’ve been absent from your blog. I think I lost my heart a little to Billie as well. That Christmas photo is so appealing. All the best for 2021.

    Like

  3. Great blog Claud! The whole year at once. V.interesting, esp your boat (new to me) and the fab pic of Bute Inlet. Along with your great garden, visitors, the girls’ birthdays (Frieda is 24!!), not to mention Billie. Thanks for all your news, a lovely read. Amen to a more sane world in 2021, not holding my breath tho. Hope to see you this year, whenever I can make it…
    Love to all,
    MLxxx

    Liked by 1 person

    1. Hi ML! Great to hear from you! Thanks for reading the blog post and I am glad you enjoyed doing so. It has been a while since I posted anything, not sure why. Too busy, too preoccupied….but just grand to hear from you. The new boat is fun, it is the Green Gold V, built for Jack Munro, the former IWA president and union leader. It was his floating office, used to visit the logging camps up the coast. C. bought it from his old friend John Roland of Salt Spring Island. That picture of F.’s birthday was taken last year, she will be 25 next week! Time flies when you are having fun!! Billie is a hoot, a real character in a good way, a bit on the cheeky side. She needs to have a good sense of humour to survive out here I think! And we do too! Really looking forward to seeing you in the not too distant future. It will be good to have you not so far away in future. I think it is totally do-able to fly with cats these days! Saw, and heard, one in a crate in the Toronto airport awhile back, when I was on my way to visit my Ma. It was accompanied by the owner and was going to be flying in business class to Mexico City! Haha! Kleeban (sp?) springs to mind! Take care and happy new year to you my dear. XX

      Like

  4. Claudia your Blog is Art, the photos, splendid and beautiful, the writing a treat to read. and though we have been in touch often in the past year, and I have loved messaging with you, reading this, and seeing the photos really brought your life style home to me, I Loved it all, thank you, and to you and Cam and families, Love and Yes let’s hope 2o21 will be saner, happier and healthier for us all

    Liked by 1 person

    1. Thank you Christina, thank you so much for your nice comments. I am glad you enjoyed this post, thank you for taking the time to read and comment. Wishing you all the very best for 2021. Take care and lots of love to you.

      Like

  5. Hi! Really enjoyed hearing about your year. Glad to see you are healthy and enjoying the retired life. Hoping that 2021 will make up for the disappointments of 2020. Spring is just around the corner! xoxo J and K

    Liked by 1 person

    1. Hi John! Thank you and glad you enjoyed reading about our 2020. Yes, spring is just around the corner, and so are you two now! We look forward to getting together some time when it is possible to do so. In the meantime, take care, and all the best for a jolly 2021! 😊

      Like

  6. So pleased to hear that you are all safe and thriving. Your garden is a wonder and nothing less than a full time job for you both. Come spring, Billie will be able to help you with the gardening. She is adorable and such a clever and attentive lass by the look of her. Hooray for the salmon farming win. All the best for 2021 and hopefully a gentle start to the year.

    Liked by 1 person

  7. Hi! Enjoy your comment over at J David’s, so it was a pleasure to ‘meet’ you finally.
    Yes, I read the scary Tyee piece (can’ spell Nik…,so won’t even try.)
    Why not try to wangle an invite to J.D.’s Scotch Party? Looks as if you could be the cauliflower provider!
    Cheers, Aghast.

    Liked by 1 person

    1. Thank you Aghast. Pleasure to meet you too. I had to check the spelling, good name to remember as he’s penned many good words on important and timely topics….Niki-for-UK. I am sure JD’s invitation will be forthcoming, and I will BMOA, Bring My Own Aspirin. I think we have eaten all the little cauliflowers, but I do have an enormous pumpkin that is about to turn into….compost, if I don’t take care of it soon! Cheerio!

      Like

Leave a comment